North America (Change)

Date/Time
Date - Sep 22, 2021
12:00 pm EDT - 1:00 pm EDT


Join us on Wednesday, September 22 at 12 PM EST/10 AM MT/9 AM PT/11 AM CT/5 PM UK for our upcoming webinar, Infrastructure Impact on Economic Growth: Harnessing the Potential in the Ontario-Michigan/Ohio Corridor with guest speaker, Dr. Bill Anderson, Director, Cross Border Institute, University of Windsor.

Most of the merchandise trade between Canada and the US moves by truck, and therefore relies on the cross-border integration of the highway networks of both countries. The Detroit River crossing is the most important Canada-US connection by value of trade and a critical link in the binational highway infrastructure system. By providing route choice, increased capacity, redundancy and more efficient border processing, the Gordie Howe International Bridge ensures that the Detroit River crossing will be well served for the remainder of the 21st century and beyond. Bill Anderson’s presentation reports on an international, interdisciplinary study to assess the economic significance of the new bridge and make recommendations on how governments at all levels, trading firms and logistics providers can take advantage of the economic opportunities that it will open up.

About the speaker:

Dr. Bill Anderson, Director, Cross-Border Institute at the University of Windsor, Assistant VP, Innovation in Cross-Border Strategies, Ontario Research Chair in Cross-Border Transportation Policy, Professor of Political Science

Dr. Bill Anderson received his doctorate in Geography from Boston University in 1984 and held faculty position at McMaster University (1983-98) and Boston University (1998-2008). He arrived at the University of Windsor in July 1, 2008 as Ontario Research Chair in Cross-Border Transportation Policy and founding director of the Cross-Border Institute (CBI). CBI’s research, outreach and educational activities are focused on the movement of goods, people and services across the Canada-US border and other international land borders. Bill’s expertise is in border operations, technology and policy; freight transportation and supply chain; international trade and business; Canada-US economic integration; and regional economic development.

Map Unavailable

Bookings

Bookings are closed for this event.